how to turn off the "new map" Feature on Snapchat | Digitalbog

Header Ads

how to turn off the "new map" Feature on Snapchat

The New Snap Map feature, part of a regular update, allows users to share their location with friends using a searchable map and it is tagged as a fun way to share snaps of public events.

But, tech commentators have been quick to point out that it shows a user's location every time they open the app, not just when posting 'Snaps for Our Story'.
                                   turn-off-snap-map

Reasons to turn Off The New Snap Map

* Your partner says they've got work to do at home and can't meet up in the evening as planned. You open Snapchat that night and see your partner is somewhere else chilling.

* By leaving the app on, you broadcast your location and other users could easily find out where you live.

* You keep bumping into your Ex in public places and you can't figure out how they know where you're going to be. Little do you know, your ex is stalking you using Snap Map.

* Your friends tell you they're not available and you think nothing of it until you open Snapchat and see most of them are in the same place. Later on, you find out they're at a party and you weren't invited.



* You take a 'mental health day' from work and decide to hit the beach and read. You're friends with the boss on Snapchat... and she can see you are at the beach.

How To Turn off Snap Maps

                                                  snap-map-ghostmode



Snap Maps is technically opt-in. It doesn't take effect until you update the app and go through its new updated features. Once you do that, though, it's fairly straightforward (as far as Snapchat goes) to opt-out of sharing your location with others. If you’re opening the app for the first time after the update, Snapchat will walk you through a step-by-step tutorial on how to use the Snap Map. First, it’ll show you how to pinch and zoom in the camera tool to access the map. Next, it’ll ask who you want to see your location.
You get three choices: all your friends, select friends, or only me. Choosing “only me” activates what Snapchat calls Ghost Mode. This makes your avatar disappear from others’ maps; you can see others but they can’t see you. Great for crooks! But remember,  your phone’s sensors can still track your location. 
To turn off location data altogether, you’ll need to visit your phone's settings where you can scroll down to Snapchat, click on “location” and choose to never share.
If you’ve already gone through the tutorial and want to change who can see you on their map, that's easy, too. 
Open Snap Map and click on the setting menu in the right hand corner, where you can decide who gets the privilege of tracking your every move.

No comments